Vegan · vegetarian

Tom Kha Soup

Sawasdee Ka!

So today i’ve been reminiscing and looking through my photos of when I travelled around Thailand. Thai has always been my fave food but looking at these photos made me crave it even more (especially after a trip to Chaophraya on saturday in Edinburgh). This is also for my friend Steph who is obsessed with this soup.

I’m not claiming that my recipe is as good as the authentic type, but I learnt this in Thailand and its good….. all im saying.

Some of the ingredients sound a bit odd and I do have a local “world food shop” which sells all the hipster shit I like to cook with. But lets not be a show of about it Nicola they sell all of this in sainsburys/tesco now days!

Side note – this is a delayed post for anyone who saw the upload on instagram, as the night I began writing this all excited about reliving my Thai adventure, my team mate and fellow lover of all things thai decided he wanted to go solo and see the world some more…alone. So my passion for food kind of died… along with my blog and love of all things Thai for a while.

but breathe innnnn…. i’m good now. back on track. and feeling happy.

So this is for steph… and chris.. this is what you could of had 😉

Ingredients

serves 2img_7727

  • 1 tin of coconut milk
  • 1 thumb sized piece of galangal peeled and sliced
  • 1 and a half lemongrass stalks, crushed and cut into 1 inch sized pieces (legit sell these in Aldi)
  • half a big white onion sliced
  • 2 tomatoes halved/quartered whatever tickles you
  • 3 kaffir limes leaves (mine were actually from Thailand what I brought back with me)
  • 100g of mushrooms sliced
  • a chilli sliced…. depending how hot you like it use as you wish
  • juice of half a lime
  • small bunch of coriander

if you want to add chicken, do so at step 3 🙂

  1. Chop all the ingredients ready to go! tips… Lemongrassslice off the bottom of the lemongrass, pull off the outer layer crush with a knife, and slice into 1 inch chunks to release fragrance. Galangalpeel like you would ginger, cut into slices no thicker than a pound coin.img_7736
  2. Grab a pan, and pour half of the coconut milk into it with the lemongrass and galangal.
  3. Before it comes to a boil add the rest of the coconut milk and half a tin of water (i used the coconut milk tin, but its approx 200ml). Turn the heat to medium, never letting it boil just slowly bubbling else the coconut milk will taste gross…trust me.
  4. Add the sliced chillies,the mushrooms, onion and tomatoes to the soup and stir.
  5. Add the kaffir lime leaves, breaking gently to release flavour.
  6. Add a pinch of salt.
  7. Cook gently for 10 minutes.
  8. Add the coriander and the lime juice and stir just before serving.
  9. In Thailand they serve this with rice on the side which you dip into the soup with your spoon, which is what I did 🙂
  10. Enjoy steph… not that you can cook 😉img_7730
Leave a Reply

