vegetarian

Brunties Beetroot Burgers

Alliteration at its finest…..

Last time I went home my mum made me a challenge, by sending me packing with a bag full of home grown beetroots and the task that I need to make some form of veggie burger that she can make herself.

Scared that she’ll probably “ground” me if I don’t, I’ve finally made a creation out of only a small portion of the abundance of those dirty little beetroots she gave me !

Hope you like it mum, I made sure I used ingredients that you’d be able to get handy, not the pretentious rubbish I usually fill my cupboards with 😂

Enjoy!

Ingredients

Makes about 4-6 burgers depending how big you like them!img_6642

  • 400g raw beetroots, peeled and grated
  • 200g of feta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 8 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • small bunch of mint, finely chopped
  • 1 lemon- using the zest and juice
  • 2-3 tbsp of flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • salt and pepper to season

To serve

  • yogurt, cucumber & mint sauce (optional) – small tub of natural yoghurt – I used about 3-4 tbsp for 2 servings, a quarter of a cucumber grated and squeezed to get all the water out, 2 stalks of fresh mint finely chopped and salt for seasoning
  • salad leaves
  • tomatoes
  • onions
  • crusty cobs

To make the yogurt, cucumber & mint sauce

Chris made me this lovely sauce once, so I decided to copy it! thanks you have your uses 😉

  1. Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix! EASYYYYYY

To make the burgers

  1.  Peel then grate the beetroots. This is the best (worst) arm workout you will ever do.
  2. Squeeze the grated beetroot to get as much water out of it as you can else the burgers will just fall apart!

    img_6650
    note to self and others, maybe wear gloves next time 😩
  3. In a bowl mix the grated beetroot, spring onions, garlic , mint, lemon zest and juice, 2 tbsp of flour, egg and salt and pepper  to season. Once mixed, crumble in the feta and stir again.If mixture is too wet add another tbsp of flour.
  4. Form the mixture into 4-6 burger patties depending how big you want them. then dust on both sides with more flour.img_6643
  5. Heat oil in a pan and fry on a medium heat for 5-8 minutes on each side!

    img_6660
    Here’s the mini frying pan my boyfriend got me as a mean joke because I desperately needed one….. Well joke’s on you Christopher because I LOVE it 😝
  6. Serve on cobs with sliced onion, tomato, salad and  the yogurt, cucumber and mint mixture! ( or just use mayo)
Leave a Reply

